Trying to complete initialization without deleting data from HDD
Posted: 13 Dec 2020, 00:09
I was having issues with Plex Media Server and I read the fix for the problem was to reinstall TOS. Saw these instructions - viewtopic.php?t=423 referred to in numerous threads, so followed them. I'm running 2 4TB HDD in Raid 1 with about 3.5TB used.
The guide says "Reinstalling the system will not delete the data on your hard drives." but when I went to log back into the device, after going through the Welcome screen, Hard Drive check up, then whether I choose "Auto download and install TOS system" or manual, I then get a message saying "Data on HDD1, HDD2 will be deleted. Are you sure you want to continue". I'm obviously not! I'm at loss for an alternative to get the NAS back running without wiping my HDD.
Does this message mean ALL the data on my drives, or am I misunderstanding this and it means the system configuration data only, which I backed up. It's too big a gamble to guess and lose some important data. Any help appreciated
The guide says "Reinstalling the system will not delete the data on your hard drives." but when I went to log back into the device, after going through the Welcome screen, Hard Drive check up, then whether I choose "Auto download and install TOS system" or manual, I then get a message saying "Data on HDD1, HDD2 will be deleted. Are you sure you want to continue". I'm obviously not! I'm at loss for an alternative to get the NAS back running without wiping my HDD.
Does this message mean ALL the data on my drives, or am I misunderstanding this and it means the system configuration data only, which I backed up. It's too big a gamble to guess and lose some important data. Any help appreciated