Network Interface | DNS Configuration Problem

Port, device name, Wi-Fi, VPN connection, proxy connection, Telnet/SSH, remote access and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
flipsyd
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Jun 2020, 01:07

Network Interface | DNS Configuration Problem

Post by flipsyd » 03 Jun 2020, 01:41

I'm new user with the following hardware and the setup and installation of the device and HDD went well.
  • Hardware: F2-210
  • Current TOS Version: 4.1.24-2005180955
  • HDD: Seagate Iron Wolf Nas
  • Setup: Single Disk
  • IP Assignment: Static
PROBLEM:
Network configuration (static) in TOS Desktop is not recognizing the DNS server I add.
Because of this problem, it is unable to connect to the internet / download any apps.

ROOT CAUSE:
Unable to resolve FQDN which I believe due to DNS configuration on the TOS Desktop.
  • # nslookup google.com
  • Server: 127.0.0.1
  • nslookup: can't resolve 'google.com': Name or service not known
CONFIRMATION:
  • DNS is working on my other host running the same IP.
  • IP is reachable from the device.
  • The interface configuration are correct through SSH.
# cat /etc/network/interfaces
config interface 'lan'
option ifname 'eth0'
option netmask '255.255.255.0'
option defaultroute 'true'
option proto 'static'
option ipaddr '10.1.1.100'
option dns1 '10.4.1.253'
option dns2 '8.8.8.8'
option gateway '10.1.1.1'


WORKAROUND:
If I manually add the following lines through # vi /etc/resolv.conf
  • nameserver 10.4.1.253
  • nameserver 8.8.8.8
Performing DNS check after the changes shows successful resolution.
  • # nslookup google.com
  • Server: 10.4.1.253
  • Name: google.com
  • Address 1: 172.217.164.238 yyz12s05-in-f14.1e100.net
  • Address 2: 2607:f8b0:400b:809::200e yyz10s04-in-x0e.1e100.net
LOOKING FOR SOLUTION FOR THE FOLLOWING FINDINGS:
Any help would be appreciated.
Why is TOS used my localhost as my default DNS when I have configured my eth0 with DNS?
  • During reboot /etc/resolv.conf gets erased, which apparently known to linux.
  • The proper way of adding DNS should be through /etc/network/interfaces which is already been properly configured.

User avatar
splaquet
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Jun 2020, 23:02

Re: Network Interface | DNS Configuration Problem

Post by splaquet » 30 Jun 2020, 23:05

Have you tried in the Networking Interface area? I'm not positive that these settings will trickle through, but my machine and LAN seem to work smoothly (well, as smooth as it gets with their TOS 😝 )

Image
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-06-30 11.03.16.png

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 366
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: Network Interface | DNS Configuration Problem

Post by TMSupport » 01 Jul 2020, 15:52

Hi flipsid,
Please SSH access your TNAS and login as root, input vi /etc/resolv.conf
Press i on the keyboard to edit
input nameserver 8.8.8.8
Press shift+: and input wq to save the change.

Post Reply

Return to “Network Configuration and Remote Access”