Hi there ... new F2-223 owner ... first NAS. Not sure...

Initialization of newly purchased TNAS or re-installation of your TNAS
s1rrah

Hi there ... new F2-223 owner ... first NAS. Not sure...

Post by s1rrah »

Hi there ...

I've never used a NAS before but am decently informed when it come to networking and RAID (all the way back to the glorious DPT SCSI cache card days lol) ... and I'm really not sure what to think about the new F2-223 just yet..

My main purposes for the machine are fairly basic, mostly just sheduled imaging of three network workstations (weekly for the most part) and that seems to be functioning okay as a Macrium scheduled imaging routine ran fine last night.

But there are some quirks that have me a bit curious as to whether a DAS type kit might be better or simply using the two 14tb drives I purchased for the F2-223 as a RAID 1 setup within my desktop and just mapping that to our other office computers.

I was also hoping to easily configure a painless integration with m G Drive cloud server and basically just mirror the entire G Drive contents to the NAS volume but that's been less than straightforward to say the least. Half the time, the Gdrive folders show up as selectable, other times it just stays searching when selecting that side of things in the Cloudsync app. I also can't see any obvious way to set up a single "task" in Cloudsync that copies all folders from my G Drive cloud to the NAS and so far, the few successes I've had when it will actually read the G Drive folder structures has been in only defining a task for a single sub folder off the root of the G Drive.

But before I write my third novella of the day...