Trying to remote mount SMB folder

IPv4/6, Port, VPN, proxy, SSH, remote access and more.
User avatar
DigitalAnalog
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Mar 2024, 07:07
Australia

Re: Trying to remote mount SMB folder

Post by DigitalAnalog »

Everest is fitting.

Btw, here's another example of a TNAS user unable to mount an shared folder: viewtopic.php?p=35040#p35040

This is not an isolated issue.
User avatar
TMroy
TerraMaster Team
Posts: 2664
Joined: 10 Mar 2020, 14:04
China

Re: Trying to remote mount SMB folder

Post by TMroy »

Thank you all for the discussion. we will add this to our list and will verify it on our schedule.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @:
Support team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support only)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)
User avatar
TMroy
TerraMaster Team
Posts: 2664
Joined: 10 Mar 2020, 14:04
China

Re: Trying to remote mount SMB folder

Post by TMroy »

Gremlin wrote: 10 May 2024, 18:16
We have verified that SMB shares can be successfully mounted from both Windows and macOS to TNAS. Follow these steps for each operating system:

Windows to TNAS
Enable Advanced Sharing:

Right-click the folder you want to share and select "Properties."
Go to the "Sharing" tab and click on "Advanced Sharing."
Check "Share this folder" and click "OK."
Note the Network Path:

After enabling sharing, note the network path displayed in the sharing menu.
Mount the Share on TNAS:

When mounting the Windows share on TNAS, use slashes (/) instead of backslashes (\) in the path.
Replace the server name with the IP address of the Windows PC.
Example path format: //Windows_PC_IP/SharedFolder
macOS to TNAS
Create a Share:

Open "System Preferences" and go to "Sharing."
Select "File Sharing" and add the folder you want to share.
Set Share Credentials:

Add a share username and password for accessing the shared folder.
Mount the Share on TNAS:

Use the IP address of the macOS device and the share name.
Example path format: //macOS_IP/SharedFolder
Important Note:
Router Limitations: Mounting SMB shares on TNAS without a username and password does not currently work. We are investigating this issue and will provide updates in the near future.

Hope this help.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @:
Support team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support only)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)
User avatar
DigitalAnalog
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Mar 2024, 07:07
Australia

Re: Trying to remote mount SMB folder

Post by DigitalAnalog »

Thanks. Would be great if @Gremlin could confirm if those steps work for him.

But what about for mounting SMB shares on routers and other NASes?

In my case, it's an ASUS RT-AX88U running the latest ASUS firmware with an attached 12TB external drive as a password-protected SMBv2 share.

I think one other user has a TP-LINK router; another one has a WD MyCloud; and another one couldn't mount a router SMB share as well but unsure what router they're running.

In all these cases, only the TNAS router was unable to mount the share, returning the cryptic "Remote source path unavailable" error.
User avatar
Gremlin
Posts: 519
Joined: 02 Dec 2022, 22:31
Great Britain

Re: Trying to remote mount SMB folder

Post by Gremlin »

I'll get back to you on this as I'm a bit busy today. Initial, very brief, test was 'No Change'. :(
F5-221 5.1.123, 8GB System Partition on 3 x 4TB Traid; 3TB EXT4
F2-221 TOS6 (Beta), 8GB System Partition on 2 x 6TB in Traid. (Latest Update 11/04/24)
User avatar
DigitalAnalog
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Mar 2024, 07:07
Australia

Re: Trying to remote mount SMB folder

Post by DigitalAnalog »

Gremlin wrote: 14 May 2024, 21:04 I'll get back to you on this as I'm a bit busy today. Initial, very brief, test was 'No Change'. :(
I would be very surprised if you found a change. The troubleshooting instructions provided by TM support are quite basic and doesn't really change anything.
Post Reply

Return to “Network & Remote Access”