How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

New system installation, system re-install
User avatar
thefatbloke
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Jun 2022, 04:56

Re: How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

Post by thefatbloke » 24 Jun 2022, 05:07

Hi
I tried method 2, but every time I run './make_install bzImage' i get an error message about /media/ not being an efi partition, and the resulting usb drive doesnt work.

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 1896
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

Post by TMSupport » 24 Jun 2022, 18:38

{L_BUTTON_AT}thefatbloke

Please send us a screenshot of the command you executed and the error message returned.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)

User avatar
thefatbloke
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Jun 2022, 04:56

Re: How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

Post by thefatbloke » 24 Jun 2022, 22:55

The commands were copy and pasted from the instructions here.
Here is the terminal output:-
root@mint:/mnt# wget https://download2.terra-master.com/bzImage.zip
--2022-06-23 17:48:26-- https://download2.terra-master.com/bzImage.zip
Resolving download2.terra-master.com (download2.terra-master.com)... 8.208.41.140
Connecting to download2.terra-master.com (download2.terra-master.com)|8.208.41.140|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 37623188 (36M) [application/x-zip-compressed]
Saving to: ‘bzImage.zip’

bzImage.zip 100%[===============================================>] 35.88M 2.42MB/s in 14s

2022-06-23 17:48:41 (2.53 MB/s) - ‘bzImage.zip’ saved [37623188/37623188]

root@mint:/mnt# unzip bzImage.zip
Archive: bzImage.zip
inflating: Burn USB hard drive system Instruction.txt
inflating: bzImage
inflating: grub.cfg
inflating: make_install
root@mint:/mnt# chmod +x make_install
root@mint:/mnt# chmod +x grub.cfg
root@mint:/mnt# ./make_install
#########mkfs ext4#############
mke2fs 1.46.2 (28-Feb-2021)
/dev/sdb1 contains a vfat file system labelled 'USB STICK'
Proceed anyway? (y,N) y
Creating filesystem with 3907840 4k blocks and 977280 inodes
Filesystem UUID: c3c13f0a-f3c8-4e56-9d8c-de18eb4f9d85
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912, 819200, 884736, 1605632, 2654208

Allocating group tables: done
Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (16384 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

#########install grub###########
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
grub-install: error: /media/ doesn't look like an EFI partition.
#########done##################
################

User avatar
thefatbloke
Posts: 0
Joined: 24 Jun 2022, 04:56

Re: How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

Post by thefatbloke » 26 Jun 2022, 03:10

It is an f2-221.

Is there a version of that page in english please?

User avatar
TMzethar
Customer Service
Posts: 224
Joined: 27 Oct 2020, 16:43

Re: How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

Post by TMzethar » 26 Jun 2022, 21:41

{L_BUTTON_AT}thefatbloke

Please check if the USB drive is healthy and try to clean the partition with your computer and try again. If the problem persists, you should be able to install TOS with it as well. If necessary, please contact the technical support mailbox.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @:
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)

User avatar
inspecteur6
Posts: 0
Joined: Yesterday, 22:50

Re: How to burn a new USB initBoot for your TNAS?(x86)

Post by inspecteur6 » Yesterday, 22:58

Hey Guys,
Been playing around making an usb stick for a F5 221.Tryed it on different hardware and it works. Openeing the GUI i get the message "piracy is illegal".
I can get in the Linux terminal and see all files etc etc. Any ideas what is causing this? Is this some hardware or something in the software.

Post Reply