clamAV virus database

Discussion of applications not mentioned above.
Post Reply
User avatar
gretor
Posts: 35
Joined: 23 Dec 2021, 19:43

clamAV virus database

Post by gretor » 28 Apr 2022, 13:50

Hello,

the virus database of clam on AV is very outdated on terra master. The update function does not seem to work. Is there any way to trigger the definition update again ? Maybe via SSH or so ?

greetings

gretor.

P.S. The old forum posts from 2020 with the same problem didn't really help me.
TNAS F2-221 - TOS 5.0.130
4 GB Ram
2x 4 TB WD Red - Raid 1

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 1958
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: clamAV virus database

Post by TMSupport » 28 Apr 2022, 18:16

Please refer to the following steps.
1. Log in to the SSH terminal
2. Edit the freshclam.conf

Code: Select all

vi /etc/freshclam.conf
3. Replace the contents of freshclam.conf with the following and save

Code: Select all

DatabaseDirectory  /usr/local/share/clamav/
UpdateLogFile /var/log/freshclam.log
LogFileMaxSize 2M
PidFile /var/run/freshclam.pid
Checks 12
#DatabaseOwner clamav
DatabaseMirror db.local.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror db.ch.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror db.cn.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror db.jp.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror db.us.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror db.uk.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror database.clamav.net
4.

Code: Select all

freshclam --user=root
If it doesn't work, you can wait for the update, which will be updated recently.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)

User avatar
PriestyUK
Posts: 30
Joined: 15 Jan 2022, 17:23

Re: clamAV virus database

Post by PriestyUK » 12 Jun 2022, 19:22

Can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong as ClamAV still doesnt want to update even though I have done what was said? Do I need to reboot before running the freshclam --user=root command?

Image
Image

User avatar
crisisacting
Posts: 44
Joined: 20 Jan 2022, 16:42

Re: clamAV virus database

Post by crisisacting » 13 Jun 2022, 00:43

PriestyUK wrote:
12 Jun 2022, 19:22
Can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong as ClamAV still doesnt want to update even though I have done what was said? Do I need to reboot before running the freshclam --user=root command?

Image
Image
That version is End of Life & blocked from updating: https://blog.clamav.net/2021/12/reminde ... e.html?m=1

User avatar
PriestyUK
Posts: 30
Joined: 15 Jan 2022, 17:23

Re: clamAV virus database

Post by PriestyUK » 13 Jun 2022, 00:46

O dam.... what now :roll:

User avatar
crisisacting
Posts: 44
Joined: 20 Jan 2022, 16:42

Re: clamAV virus database

Post by crisisacting » 13 Jun 2022, 01:01

PriestyUK wrote:
13 Jun 2022, 00:46
O dam.... what now :roll:
One would need to independently build a newer tpk for installation, since Terra-Master has not kept their official package, from their integrated repository, current.

User avatar
PriestyUK
Posts: 30
Joined: 15 Jan 2022, 17:23

Re: clamAV virus database

Post by PriestyUK » 13 Jun 2022, 01:46

Well they should bloody well get on with it :roll:

Post Reply