Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Discussion about Plex and Emby Media Server
Post Reply
User avatar
mightywhitey
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Jun 2022, 19:44

Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by mightywhitey » 29 Jun 2022, 19:46

I've just updated from 5.0.125 to 5.0.126 and it's killed my Plex Server.

It worked fine on 5.0.125, and now I just get 'Operation Failed' when trying to start the server,

Any advice?

User avatar
outkastm
Posts: 746
Joined: 29 Dec 2020, 23:52

Re: Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by outkastm » 29 Jun 2022, 20:53

True, TM need to fix it.

In the meanwhile, you can manually install this .tpk which will also update PLEX to latest version

viewtopic.php?f=37&t=3425
3rd party app developer
How to manually install 3rd Party Apps?
I don't use all these apps, ping me if there is any that require update

User avatar
mightywhitey
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Jun 2022, 19:44

Re: Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by mightywhitey » 29 Jun 2022, 22:16

Thanks for the prompt response!

Annoyingly the new TOS Plex server attached in your reply also doesn't work in 5.0.126.

All worked fine with 5.0.125... but has stopped after the latest update.

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 1963
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by TMSupport » 29 Jun 2022, 22:52

Please try the following steps.
1. Login to the SSH terminal.
2. Execute the command below.

Code: Select all

adduser -u 6666 -G plex -h /Volume1/Plex -s /bin/false -D plex
3. Go to TOS desktop> App Center to enable the Plex.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)

User avatar
outkastm
Posts: 746
Joined: 29 Dec 2020, 23:52

Re: Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by outkastm » 30 Jun 2022, 00:01

@ TMSupport

Not possible to create again the user plex as it was already created during plex installation with id 5555

Code: Select all

[xxxx@TNAS-xxxx ~]# adduser -u 6666 -G plex -h /Volume1/Plex -s /bin/false -D plex
adduser: user 'plex' in use
Maybe you can check this option in Plex startup script which prevent plex to start if /Volume1/Plex folder is already existing from previous installation. Maybe is missing the -owner attribute ans is required in the latest firmware ?

Code: Select all

[xxxx@TNAS-xxxx ~]# PLEX_HOME=$(ter_share_add -name "Plex")
2022/06/29 17:58:27 {"is_login":false,"code":false,"msg":"user: lookup username root: no such file or directory","data":"","time":0.072580663,"code_num":0,"code_msg":""}
@ mightywhitey

have you manually installed the .tpk file using the menu App Center > Settings and slecting the downloaded tpk ?
Plex should be enabled automatically after manual installation.

Image

Image

Image
3rd party app developer
How to manually install 3rd Party Apps?
I don't use all these apps, ping me if there is any that require update

User avatar
Izo
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Jun 2022, 18:13

Re: Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by Izo » 30 Jun 2022, 00:23

Do i have to be developer to use your products, Terramaster?!?
Shame on you!!!
everyday updates means everyday surprises.
When we will receive something working?
I am pissed off. Every update brings some more bugs :o :x

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 1963
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: Updating to TOS 5.0.126 Kills Plex Server

Post by TMSupport » 30 Jun 2022, 14:18

Unable to enable Plex in TOS 5.0.126 has been fixed, please update plex.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)

Post Reply