F2-220 Failure

Permissions, domain/LDAP, power, security, notification and more.
twoeyesofblue

F2-220 Failure

Post by twoeyesofblue »

I have been running the F2-220 for almost 3 years now without a flaw. Last week I noticed plex not finding the NAS. When I checked on it I discovered the Green and Red LEDs on solid. I powered down the box and restarted with the same results. After reading FAQ, I removed and reinserted drives while the unit was on and the same results. In all situations, I could not ping the box or talk to it with TNAS. Removing power cable, waiting a couple minutes and reinserting and restarting with the same procedures also resulted in the same.

I ordered and received today an F2-221. Using the same power supply, LAN cable and drives it started and booted up no problems. Thank god I did not lose 4TB of data, That made me happy but I am concerned that getting a NAS that will not outlast the drives is scary to me.

1. I hate using the F2-220 for spare parts. Can I get a replacement main board or this box repaired that is not like spending for another complete NAS. I am technical enough to swap out boards etc.

2. Anyone else had this problem with no so long term failures? This box is backed by a dedicated UPS so no power bumps or outages until this one.

Thanks,
Dan
TMSupport
TerraMaster Team

Re: F2-220 Failure

Post by TMSupport »

Hi, please send us your Amazon order number of F2-220 and F2-221, you can contact us at support@terra-master.com. I will transfer your information to our Amazon coordinate to see if any discount could be offered for the new F2-221.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)
RainerZim

Post by RainerZim »

Have the same failure,
My F2-220 is from August 2017 (bought by noontec).