Moving from single drive to RAID

RAID, Volume, storage pool, hard drive, USB, SSD cache and iSCSI LUN
mquintana

Moving from single drive to RAID

Post by mquintana »

I originally set up my NAS (F2-221) as a single drive unit on a 1TB drive (btrfs format).

I recently upgraded to dual RAID 4TB drives (btrfs format).

I want to copy the data from my old drive to the new drives so I moved the old 1TB drive to a USB drive enclosure.

The NAS recognizes the drive but does not mount it. It doesn't show up on the file manager.

I tried to mount it through SSH without success. I have very little linux experience, so I don't know if i'm doing it wrong or not.

Would appreciate some guidance or some alternative way to get my data from the 1TB drive to the new 4TB drives.
Attachments
Nas Drives.jpg
Nas Drives.jpg (15.36 KiB) Viewed 2426 times
TMSupport
TerraMaster Team

Re: Moving from single drive to RAID

Post by TMSupport »

Hello, what's the RAID type of your current two HDDs? Is it RAID1?
If yes, you can move the data from the old single drive to the current RAID1 as following:
1. pull out one hard drive from RAID1 at power on stage;
2. insert the old single to the device at power on stage;
3. reboot the device;
4. copy the data from Single to RAID1;
5. power it off when backup is finished, and pull out the single drive;
6. reboot it with one drive of RAID1, and insert the other drive back to the device at power on stage;
7. go to Storage pool - click Edit and choose “ repair the RAID” from the list.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement, RMA service)
mquintana

Post by mquintana »

Thank you for the reply.