issue with folders named "desktop"

SMB, NFS, AFP, FTP, web file manager and Rsync server.
Locked
User avatar
erik.meuwese
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jan 2021, 20:03

issue with folders named "desktop"

Post by erik.meuwese »

Folders named "desktop" or "Desktop" cannot be copied. Could it be that TOS thinks that "desktop" should be in de user dir and not in a profile of a program or in a backup.

The setup is as follows TNAS F5-420 with TOS version 4.2.09 connected to PC with Windows 10. The destination folder "\\192.168.1.101\myussername\backup" on the TNAS mounted to "Z:\" and than in Powershell I use "robocopy D:\ Z:\backup-d /e /v". I use robocopy in this case because it can handle longer paths than windows explorer.

An application had a folder with "D:\someprogram\profile\mobile\config" and "D:\someprogram\profile\desktop\config". Then coping fails on folders "D:\someprogram\profile\desktop". For example MATLAB has a folder "desktop" in one of the plugins.

Also when using the webinterface then I cannot make folders named "desktop" in any dir.

It would be nice to be able copy any source folder to a folder on the TNAS without having to rename every "desktop" folder. Does someone know a solution?
User avatar
TMS
TerraMaster Team
Posts: 508
Joined: 20 Oct 2020, 17:06

Re: issue with folders named "desktop"

Post by TMS »

Thanks for your report, we will test and verify this issue.
To contact our tech team, please email to support(at)terra-master.com, remember to replace (at) with @
User avatar
TMRyan
TerraMaster Team
Posts: 817
Joined: 01 Dec 2020, 11:50

Re: issue with folders named "desktop"

Post by TMRyan »

{L_BUTTON_AT}erik.meuwese
Hi,
Can't you copy it to TNAS or can't you copy it on your computer?
May I know the prompt when copying "D:\someprogram\profile\desktop" fails?
Is this application running and it is not allowed to be copied to other places?
We only found that the web interface in TOS hides the desktop folder, and the Desktop folder can be used normally.
To contact our team, please send email to following addresses, remember to replace (at) with @
Technical team: support(at)terra-master.com (for technical support)
Service team: service(at)terra-master.com (for purchasing, return, replacement)
User avatar
erik.meuwese
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jan 2021, 20:03

Re: issue with folders named "desktop"

Post by erik.meuwese »

On the PC i created the following dir structure with one txt file C:\test\desktop\test\test.txt. The test.txt has the content 'TNAS test' length 9 chars
Network drive Z:/ is mounted to the ip \\192.168.1.101\myusername and the dir backup does already exist. The dir tnas-test does not exist robocopy will create it.

Then open PowerShell and run 'robocopy C:\test Z:\backup\tnas-test /E /V'

The output:

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     ROBOCOPY       ::          Robust File Copy for Windows
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     Started  :  Tuesday, 20 April 2021  20:03:46
      Source  :  C:\test'
         Dest  :  Z:\backup\tnas-test\

        Files  :  *.*

    Options  :  *.* /V /S /E /DCOPY:DA /COPY:DAT /R:1000000 /W:30

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

               New Dir            0     C:\test\
               New Dir            0     C:\test\desktop\
2021/04/20 20:03:46 ERROR 2 (0x00000002) Creating Destination Directory Z:\backup\tnas-test\desktop\
The system cannot find the file specified.
Waiting 30 seconds... Retrying...
2021/04/20 20:03:46 ERROR 2 (0x00000002) Creating Destination Directory Z:\backup\tnas-test\desktop\
The system cannot find the file specified.
Waiting 30 seconds... Retrying...
2021/04/20 20:03:46 ERROR 2 (0x00000002) Creating Destination Directory Z:\backup\tnas-test\desktop\
The system cannot find the file specified.
Waiting 30 seconds... Retrying...
2021/04/20 20:03:46 ERROR 2 (0x00000002) Creating Destination Directory Z:\backup\tnas-test\desktop\
The system cannot find the file specified.
Waiting 30 seconds... Retrying...

Rename the dir desktop to works. The source (PC) dir structure wil look like C:\test\works\test\test.txt

Then run 'robocopy C:\test Z:\backup\tnas-test /E /V'

The output:

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     ROBOCOPY       ::          Robust File Copy for Windows
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     Started  :  Tuesday, 20 April 2021  20:03:46
      Source  :  C:\test'
         Dest  :  Z:\backup\tnas-test\

        Files  :  *.*

    Options  :  *.* /V /S /E /DCOPY:DA /COPY:DAT /R:1000000 /W:30

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

               New Dir            0     C:\test\
               New Dir            0     C:\test\works\
               New Dir           1      C:\test\works\test\
100%       New File           9     test.txt

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                 Total       Copied      Skipped    Mismatch   FAILED        Extras
   Dirs  :           3              2                 1                0             0              0
  Files  :           1              1                 0                0             0              0
 Bytes  :           9              9                 0                0             0              0
Times  :  0:00:00     0:00:00                                        0:00:00    0:00:00

Speed  :                    600 Bytes/sec.
Speed  :                 0.034 MegaBytes/min.
Ended  :  Tuesday, 20 April 2021  20:03:46
When using Explorer to copy C:\test to Z:\backup you get the following:
Image
alternative url for the image: https://ibb.co/8jff6Z9 (image host removes image after 2 weeks)


The dirs and file where not in use by any other program
User avatar
erik.meuwese
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jan 2021, 20:03

Re: issue with folders named "desktop"

Post by erik.meuwese »

Same test setup:
C:\test\desktop\test\test.txt
And test.txt has 9 characters of text in it.

Powershell

Code: Select all

>scp -r c:\test myusername@192.168.1.101:~/backup
Password:
test,txt                                                       100%    9     0.0KB/s    00:00
> ssh  myusername@192.168.1.101
Password:
Welcome to Tnas!
$ cd ~/backup/test/desktop/test
$ ls
test.txt
With scp the dirs and file are copied. But visiting \\192.168.1.115\myusername\backup\test in Explorer then the folder "desktop is not visible

The smb.conf in /etc/samba shows:

Code: Select all

veto files =  /desktop
However in TOS Control Panel -> File Service -> SMB/CIFS File Service under Advanced Veto files is unchecked.

In the Samba documentation it saids that the default is that no files or dirs are vetoed. And /*dekstop*/ would match the word desktop and /desktop the specific file.

The smb.conf is read-only and as user admin I cannot change the file rights?

How to access root?
User avatar
erik.meuwese
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jan 2021, 20:03

Re: issue with folders named "desktop"

Post by erik.meuwese »

Getting rights to change the smb.conf viewtopic.php?t=737

Editing /etc/samba/smb.conf and removing veto files = /desktop did not solve it. After rebooting veto files = /desktop is back in the config.
Locked