Page 1 of 1

change time server

Posted: 20 Dec 2019, 00:17
by anyway
How can I change the predefined time server in order to receive date and time from a local one?

Re: change time server

Posted: 20 Dec 2019, 10:42
by TMSupport
Please go to TOS control Panel - General Settings -Region&Language - Time, to change the time settings.
Image

Re: change time server

Posted: 20 Dec 2019, 15:12
by anyway
Unfortunately your answer does not help.
I run a F2-210.
What you show is a predefined drop down menu with now possibility to enter a new server name.

Re: change time server

Posted: 27 Dec 2019, 10:16
by TMSupport
Hi, sorry to tell you that we don't support changing the predefined time server in order to receive date and time from a local one at the moment, we have added it to our developing list. You will be noted as soon as it's ready.

Re: change time server

Posted: 19 Jul 2020, 09:39
by iPeriod
@anyway
I've recently purchased a F4-210 and had the same issue. I didn't want to go near any Chinese services and the only other option asia.pool.ntp.org failed while updating the system time. The drop down list of NTP servers is limited and offers mostly ~~~.cn NTP servers.

SSH into the NAS as root and edit root's crontab replacing the NTP server with your local one.

Code: Select all

ssh -p 9222 root@<nas hostname or IP>
List the current crontab, make sure it contained a NTP job:

Code: Select all

crontab -l
Save the current crontab in case something goes wrong:

Code: Select all

crontab -l >/tmp/crontab.root
Don't reboot or you will lose your backup crontab.
Now be careful and familiarise yourself with vi/nano editor commands:

Code: Select all

crontab -e
Replace the current NTP name with your own, then save and exit
Check the crontab is correct:

Code: Select all

crontab -l
If you need to revert back to the original crontab:

Code: Select all

crontab /tmp/crontab.root

Re: change time server

Posted: 22 Jul 2020, 11:44
by TMSupport
We will provide more NTP server options in coming update.

Re: change time server

Posted: 24 Jul 2020, 22:29
by iPeriod
Thanks. You should also look allowing the user to set the frequency and timing of 'ntpdate' requests, individual user's requirements may vary in respect to time fluctuations. Look at the SSD TRIM timing UI, this would work for NTP as is.

Re: change time server

Posted: 01 Aug 2020, 06:36
by Southland
I was about to report this same problem since all but two timer servers are in China, and all but one are in Asia. I recommend adding the following.

Worldwide: pool.ntp.org
United States: time.nist.gov

By the way, I recommend making the pool.ntp.org as the default since it will give you a local timeserver where ever you are located.

Re: change time server

Posted: 03 Aug 2020, 12:00
by TMSupport
Thanks for the reporting, It will be transferred to the technical dept.

Re: change time server

Posted: 06 Aug 2020, 04:10
by P37
The easiest way is login via ssh as root

Code: Select all

ntpdate pool.ntp.org
Your ntp-Server is set.
You can also type it in the root-crontab

Code: Select all

crontab -e
0 12 * * * ntpdate pool.ntp.org