change time server

IPv4/6, Port, VPN, proxy, SSH, remote access and more.
Post Reply
anyway
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Dec 2019, 00:12

change time server

Post by anyway » 20 Dec 2019, 00:17

How can I change the predefined time server in order to receive date and time from a local one?

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 743
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: change time server

Post by TMSupport » 20 Dec 2019, 10:42

Please go to TOS control Panel - General Settings -Region&Language - Time, to change the time settings.
Image
Attachments
timeserver.png
(34.68 KiB) Downloaded 109 times

anyway
Posts: 9
Joined: 20 Dec 2019, 00:12

Re: change time server

Post by anyway » 20 Dec 2019, 15:12

Unfortunately your answer does not help.
I run a F2-210.
What you show is a predefined drop down menu with now possibility to enter a new server name.

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 743
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: change time server

Post by TMSupport » 27 Dec 2019, 10:16

Hi, sorry to tell you that we don't support changing the predefined time server in order to receive date and time from a local one at the moment, we have added it to our developing list. You will be noted as soon as it's ready.

User avatar
iPeriod
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jul 2020, 08:56

Re: change time server

Post by iPeriod » 19 Jul 2020, 09:39

@anyway
I've recently purchased a F4-210 and had the same issue. I didn't want to go near any Chinese services and the only other option asia.pool.ntp.org failed while updating the system time. The drop down list of NTP servers is limited and offers mostly ~~~.cn NTP servers.

SSH into the NAS as root and edit root's crontab replacing the NTP server with your local one.

Code: Select all

ssh -p 9222 root@<nas hostname or IP>
List the current crontab, make sure it contained a NTP job:

Code: Select all

crontab -l
Save the current crontab in case something goes wrong:

Code: Select all

crontab -l >/tmp/crontab.root
Don't reboot or you will lose your backup crontab.
Now be careful and familiarise yourself with vi/nano editor commands:

Code: Select all

crontab -e
Replace the current NTP name with your own, then save and exit
Check the crontab is correct:

Code: Select all

crontab -l
If you need to revert back to the original crontab:

Code: Select all

crontab /tmp/crontab.root

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 743
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: change time server

Post by TMSupport » 22 Jul 2020, 11:44

We will provide more NTP server options in coming update.

User avatar
iPeriod
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jul 2020, 08:56

Re: change time server

Post by iPeriod » 24 Jul 2020, 22:29

Thanks. You should also look allowing the user to set the frequency and timing of 'ntpdate' requests, individual user's requirements may vary in respect to time fluctuations. Look at the SSD TRIM timing UI, this would work for NTP as is.

User avatar
Southland
Posts: 22
Joined: 28 Jul 2020, 14:09

Re: change time server

Post by Southland » 01 Aug 2020, 06:36

I was about to report this same problem since all but two timer servers are in China, and all but one are in Asia. I recommend adding the following.

Worldwide: pool.ntp.org
United States: time.nist.gov

By the way, I recommend making the pool.ntp.org as the default since it will give you a local timeserver where ever you are located.

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 743
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: change time server

Post by TMSupport » 03 Aug 2020, 12:00

Thanks for the reporting, It will be transferred to the technical dept.

User avatar
P37
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2020, 04:12

Re: change time server

Post by P37 » 06 Aug 2020, 04:10

The easiest way is login via ssh as root

Code: Select all

ntpdate pool.ntp.org
Your ntp-Server is set.
You can also type it in the root-crontab

Code: Select all

crontab -e
0 12 * * * ntpdate pool.ntp.org
TNAS F4-210, TOS 4.1.30
TNAS F4-220, TOS 4.1.30

Post Reply