Brand new F2-221 not found on network

IPv4/6, Port, VPN, proxy, SSH, remote access and more.
Post Reply
User avatar
IanP63
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2020, 02:07

Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by IanP63 » 22 Nov 2020, 02:25

Hi all,

Just hoping I can pick the collective brains of all you experienced TerraMaster users with this challenge. Sorry in advance for the long post!

Just took delivery of a shiny new F2-221 to use a a Plex server, replacing my old Seagate which died recently. I followed all the instructions to install drives (2x 4TB IronWolf) and attached to the router (BT HomeHub 4) but I can't seem to find the device on the home network. Both the NAS and PC are ethernet connected to the hub. The NAS lights are green for the 2 drives and power and flashing green for the LAN. The LAN cable appears to be talking as the green/orange lights around the port are flashing. I've been through all the firewall settings on the PC (Windows 10) and the router but nothing seems to work. I've tried different ports and cables on the router and NAS (interestingly the top port doesn't flash?!). Finally, the router won't allow me to disable the firewall altogether- the best I can do is "Allow all outgoing connections and block all unsolicited incoming traffic. Games and application sharing is allowed."

Also, my power button doesn't seem to work as described - the NAS automatically switches on when I connect the power and doesn't shutdown after a 3 second press, nor does it beep so wondering if I've got a faulty unit?

Any help would be greatly appreciated before I box it back up and return it :(

Thanks in advance

User avatar
TMS
Posts: 85
Joined: 20 Oct 2020, 17:06

Re: Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by TMS » 22 Nov 2020, 11:58

Try to boot up without installing any hard disk. When tnas pc searches for nas ip, click login, then follow the wizard to insert the hard disk and install the system.
To contact our tech team, please email to support(at)terra-master.com, remember to replace (at) with @

User avatar
TMroy
Customer Service
Posts: 832
Joined: 10 Mar 2020, 14:04

Re: Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by TMroy » 22 Nov 2020, 13:22

Your TNAS device seems to properly boot. Some settings in your network stop your device from being search. Can you find out the TNAS IP address from your router? if so, then you can input the IP address in your chrome, firefox, safari browser to start the system initialization.
Or, please try input //tnas.local/ in your browser to connect with your device.
To contact our tech team, please email to support(at)terra-master.com, remember to replace (at) with @

User avatar
IanP63
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2020, 02:07

Re: Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by IanP63 » 22 Nov 2020, 18:16

Hi TMS/TMroy,

Thanks for the suggestions. I've tried both these but still can't connect. The unit is connected to the router via ethernet cable and power is on with no drives in the bays. The LAN light on the front is flashing green about once per second but won't stay on constantly and I can't actually see that it is connected either in the router software (can see all the other stuff in my house like Sonos, Chromecast, phones etc.) nor using an app called Fing on my phone. Again, I can see all the other connected devices but not the TNAS/IP address.

Should I need to disable the router firewall completely to be able to see the device on the network? Thought I should at least see an IP address if it's physically connected, even I can't talk to it because of the firewall settings?

Feels like I'm running out of options.

User avatar
TMroy
Customer Service
Posts: 832
Joined: 10 Mar 2020, 14:04

Re: Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by TMroy » 22 Nov 2020, 23:15

Did you enable DHCP service on your router?
To contact our tech team, please email to support(at)terra-master.com, remember to replace (at) with @

User avatar
IanP63
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2020, 02:07

Re: Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by IanP63 » 23 Nov 2020, 00:50

Thanks TMroy. Yes, DHCP is enabled. What’s odd is that this isn’t the first time I’ve setup a NAS on this network/PC. This is a replacement for one that’s been working for about 5 years, so there’s something different between the way the TNAS wants to be configured and the old NAS.

I’ve tried enabling/disabling various settings in the network config but it’s stubbornly refusing to show itself. I’ve spent around a full working day on this so far and still stuck. I’m not a network expert by any means but I work in IT so not a complete dummy but this is baffling me. Stuck as to why this can be so different from the old NAS unless there’s a hardware defect?

User avatar
TMSupport
Customer Service
Posts: 879
Joined: 13 Dec 2019, 15:15

Re: Brand new F2-221 not found on network

Post by TMSupport » 23 Nov 2020, 16:06

Please connect your TNAS to your PC directly using the Ethernet cable, and run TNAS PC to search again to see whether it could be detected.
Also please disable the firewall on the router and try again too.
To contact our tech team, please email to support(at)terra-master.com, remember to replace (at) with @

Post Reply